ans    cns

International Conference on Mathematics and Computational Methods Applied to Nuclear Science and Engineering
August 13-17, 2023 Sheraton Fallsview Hotel, Niagara Falls, Canada

Session Topics

Time - Dependent and Radiative Transfer Methods
Computational Methods for Thermalhydraulics
Modelling and Simulations in High-Energy-Density Physics and Plasma Physics
Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence
Deterministic Transport Methods and Applications
Monte Carlo Methods and Applications
High-Performance Computing
Computer Codes, Modelling and Simulation
Multi-Scale, Multiphysics Simulations
Computational Fluid Dynamics
Computational Materials Science
Simulations for Small Modular Reactors and GEN-IV Reactors
Sensitivity Analysis and Uncertainty Quantification
Verification and Validation
Nuclear Data and Nuclear Data Evaluations

Submit Your Abstract


  • For extended abstract and the full paper template Click Here
  • For files needed to create the extended abstract and the full paper in LaTeX Click Here

The authors retain all copyrights to their papers; the CNS reserves the right to publish the papers in the proceedings of the conference and to sell copies of the papers.

One author of the paper must register for and attend the conference to present the paper for it to be included in the proceedings.

The Editor of NSE (Nuclear Science and Engineering) has kindly offered to create a special issue of the journal dedicated to the conference. Revised conference papers may be submitted to NSE for review and possible publication.

Areas of Application (Not exhaustive)

Reactor Operation and Safety
Subcritical Systems
Radiation Protection and Shielding
Non-proliferation and Safeguards
Advanced Reactors and Fusion Energy Systems
Nuclear Fuel and Fuel Cycles
Refurbishment and Commissioning Simulations


Dates extended abstracts due: Nov. 1, 2022
Review notification: Mar. 7, 2023
Full papers due: May 9, 2023

Conference Venue

Conference Hotel

Sheraton Fallsview Hotel, Niagara Falls, Canada
Hotel registration for MC2023 opens up August 13, 2022
Visit the Hotel Website

Conference Organizing Committee

Honorary Chairs:
Ben Rouben (12&1)
Guy Marleau (Polytechnique Montréal)

General Chair: Adriaan Buijs (McMaster U)

Technical Program Organizing Committee (Local):
Wei Shen, Chair (CANDU Owners Group)
Ben Rouben (12&1)
Guy Marleau (Polytechnique Montréal)
Blair Bromley (CNL)
Eleodor Nichita (Ontario Tech)
Doddy Kastanya (Kinectrics)
Kirk Atkinson (Ontario Tech)
Grace Wang (Bruce Power)

Technical Program Organizing Committee (International):
Timothy Valentine (RSICC, ORNL, US)
Gérald Rimpault (CEA, France)
Sandra Dulla (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
Han Gyu Joo (SNU, Korea)
Francesco D’Auria (U Pisa, Italy)
Jun Fang (ANL)
Liangzhi Cao (XJTU, China)

Plenary Program Committee:
Guy Marleau, Chair (Polytechnique Montréal)
Yousry Azmy (NCSU, US)
Alessandro Petruzzi (NINE, Italy)

Workshops: Blair Bromley (CNL)

Student Program Committee:
Eleodor Nichita, Chair (Ontario Tech)
Peter Kriemadis (McMaster U) 

Sponsorship:  Constantin Banica (OPG)

Finance:  Mohamed Younis (AECL, retired) 

Technical Tours:  Robert Farkas (Ontario Tech)

Website/Publications: Adriaan Buijs (McMaster U) 

Local Arrangements:  Wei Shen (CANDU Owners Group)

Hotel Liaison & Registration:
Ben Rouben & CNS Office